Hump Day Hook.


Well, after a month of being away from HDH I’m back at last and raring to go. I hope everyone is well and enjoying some lovely spring sunshine as we are in the UK….at least in my part of it. 😃

I’ve been doing the A-Z challenge over April and it was fun and definitely challenging.

Anyway, here is the next little snippet from Ellis Stephen is telling his story to the Reverend Davy and we begin with poor Stephen about to get into trouble. I hope you enjoy this little tidbit;

For a list of other authors taking part see here

Oh, and its a giveaway week, so I’ll be giving away a £5 Amazon voucher for one commenter. Or, if you prefer…an iPad/iPhone/iPod app’ to the same value.

I can still remember the feel of the hot pavement beneath my bare feet and how the grains of sand stuck to the grubby soles and between my toes; and the tingle of my sun burnt face and arms from a long day playing in the August heat. But I knew, and so did Ellis that it’d be more than my face and arms which would be tingling when I got home.

‘Yer mam’s gonna clout yer when she sees that,Stevie’. Ellis’s voice was filled with a kind of horrified awe as he stared again at the long, jagged tear in my trousers.

‘Aye, ah bloody well know’, I said, annoyed with myself for being so clumsy and with Ellis for reminding me of the punishment I’d surely receive when I got home. My mother was a dab hand at drawing sparks from my bum.

20130501-120301.jpg

17 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook.

  1. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you, Flossie. I speak with a very broad Yorkshire accent…but writing it is a different kettle of fish I think.

  2. Elin Gregory

    Oh lor’ this brings back memories. Mostly of sneaking into the house then dashing past mum with a squeal that I needed the loo so she wouldn’t spot the damage before I could change. I fell out of so many trees. Lovely evocative post.

  3. jessielansdel Post author

    Aww, thanks hun. Yes, I remember getting a hiding for losing a brand new cardigan at the swimming baths. Thanks for commenting lovey. 😉

  4. Elin Gregory

    Gah, swimming baths. Were yours unheated out door ones?
    I’ll be joining in next week again 🙂 but I forgot to sign up for this week.

  5. jessielansdel Post author

    No, indoor ones. I can still smell the aroma of Domestos like stuff they used. There was an outdoor one in Rowntrees park but I was too wimpy to use it. Lol. All gone now.

  6. JadeCrystal

    Love this snippet! Well, not that Stevie is about to get in trouble. But I am loving the dialect! I just had to read it out loud so I could enjoy the sounds, lol. The last line made me chuckle even though I know Stevie wouldn’t have been amused by that. 😉 Gods, I already can’t wait until next week.
    Btw, I completely sympathize with his mother. My boys have worn out the knees of half a dozen pairs of pants in just a couple months. *sigh*

  7. jessielansdel Post author

    You have know idea how great it is to read your remarks. It’s a HUGE boost to my confidence and my word count. Thank you. 😘

  8. diannehartsock

    OH no, poor kiddo! Terrible to have a parent that strict. Great job on the dialogue and showing us the characters through words and actions. Great hook!

  9. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you, Dianne. I speak with a very broad Yorkshire accent because I’m from York….but writing the dialogue is a whole new ball game. Lol. My story takes place at the beginning of the 20th century so parents were a lot more strict then….but no less loving. Thank you for commenting. 😀

  10. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you, Mandy. It’s great fun writing the Yorkshire dialogue. That is wonderful that you can visualise the scene. Thank you for commenting. 😀

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

