A-Z Challenge


20130428-121759.jpg is for The White Queen…a novel by Phillipa Gregory about Elizabeth Woodville, queen of Edward 1V.

The first in a stunning new series, The Cousins’ War, is set amid the tumult and intrigue of the Wars of the Roses. Internationally bestselling author Philippa Gregory brings this extraordinary family drama to vivid life through its women – beginning with Elizabeth Woodville, the White Queen.

Now, this book has been made into a television drama to be shown next month (May) I believe. I am eagerly looking forward to watching it as this period in history is a great favourite of mine. However…..I hope they haven’t ‘sexed it up’ and created a Hollywood type royal soap opera as was the case with The Tudors although I admit to having watched and enjoyed that series.

I don’t mind seeing a bit of (tasteful) nooky between Edward and Elizabeth…after all, he was well known for his love of beautiful women and bed sport. But I don’t particularly want to see it in every scene. And please God no gratuitous masturbation scenes as we saw in The Tudors. Surely even kings are allowed to indulge in this pleasure in private. 😉

20130428-124625.jpg From left, Clarence, Edward & Gloucester

20130428-124802.jpg Edward & Elizabeth

20130428-124909.jpg Ben Lamb as Antony Woodville And I approve of the choice of actor playing my hero….Antony Woodville. I hope he plays him well. He is handsome as was Antony and he looks good here in armour. I wonder if that will be Antony’s famous joust against The Bastard of Burgundy.

Anyway…..roll on May and I’ll leave you with a taster of The White Queen;

Oh dear, apparently the above video has very poor sound and I can’t find another one to post instead. But….to see the clip with sound, visit this site . I do apologise for the rubbish video….and thank you Ciaran Dwynvil for pointing it out.

3 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge

  1. Vikki Thompson

    Just stopping by from the A-Z Challenge list to say “Hi” 🙂

    Great post honey!

    Good luck with the rest of the challenge, although, not far to go now 😉

    xx (www.the-view-outside.com)

  2. ciarandwynvil

    Wow, Aneurin Barnard so reminded me of Rufus Sewell in this trailer that I had to check the year 🙂 The sound was really bad, so I couldn’t rely on the voice, which is unmistakable. But the resemblance in facial features is striking here.

  3. jessielansdel Post author

    Oh my word. Thanks for pointing out the crappy sound, Ciaran I thought it was my volume control (which is broken) So I’ve put a link up at the foot of the post to a site where you will be able to hear it better. 😳😱

    I can’t wait for this series to start. I’m very excited. Thank you for your comments….they are always very welcome.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

