A-Z Challenge


20130423-121421.jpg is for Songs…..and my absolute favourite …Medieval and Renaissance. I love and adore 16th century music and songs and many times I have sat writing until the wee small hours whilst listening to some of my favourites.

Here is one which I have loved for years. Written by Henry V111 shortly after his coronation, it is called Pastime With Good Company and is also known as The Kings Ballad and it is said he wrote it for his Queen at the time….Katherine of Aragon.

Pastime with good company
I love and shall unto I die;
Grudge who list, but none deny,
So God be pleased thus live will I.
For my pastance
Hunt, song, and dance.
My heart is set:
All goodly sport
For my comfort,
Who shall me let?

Youth must have some dalliance,
Of good or illé some pastance;
Company methinks then best
All thoughts and fancies to dejest:
For idleness
Is chief mistress
Of vices all.
Then who can say
But mirth and play
Is best of all?

Company with honesty
Is virtue vices to flee:
Company is good and ill
But every man hath his free will.
The best ensue,
The worst eschew,
My mind shall be:
Virtue to use,
Vice to refuse,
Shall I use me.

3 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge

  1. ciarandwynvil

    It’s a beautiful song, Jessie. Who knows how things would have developed, had he not met Anne. From what I have heard, he wasn’t a bad husband to Catherine at all for a rather long time.

  2. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you, Ciaran. Glad you liked it. Yes, Henry was a very good husband to Katherine at first and it seems he had genuine affection for her. His meeting with Anne was a tragedy for all concerned. And Henry was a very handsome man in his early years. A typical Plantagenet and very like his grandfather, Edward 1V.

  3. ciarandwynvil

    Yes, he was a handsome man and for many years his marriage was a good one. Somehow the things in his life didn’t go well in his later years. The injury must have been hard on him and Catherine Howard’s betrayal too. That was the second wife he seemed to have genuine feelings for.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

