Hump Day Hook


Good morning, fellow Hookers. It’s Wednesday again and that means plenty of wonderful snippets to read by a host of talented writers. So follow this link for a list of participating authors and have fun 

 

 Following on from last weeK,  Reverend Davy has taken Stephen back to the vestry to dry off and have tea. 

This is from one of my WsIP…..Ellis

 

I am glad to be able to sit at last if truth be told. I feel so drained and tired all of a sudden; and the warmth from the fire makes me feel so sleepy. 

Thankfully, the reverend does not engage me in conversation just yet; and I have time to collect my thoughts as I listen to the swoosh of water filling the kettle, the rattle of cups and saucers and the delicate chink of spoons against china. 

My eyes are becoming so heavy that I can hardly keep them open. But it would be rude to sleep in the face of this man’s kindness and hospitality. So I fight to stay awake…but dear God it is hard. I am so exhausted and my body craves sleep, my tired mind needs but one nights respite from the grief and the pain of memory. Maybe then, this man’s act of charity will be the anodyne I seek, my souls respite, the assuaging of guilt. 

I hope so….dear Lord I hope so. 

15 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook

  1. Mandy Earles (@meryvamp)

    Awe. I just wanna give him a hug. I can definitely relate to him. Worrying is exhausting. But it seems Reverend Davy is a calming presence. Perhaps he’ll finally find some peace of mind 🙂

  2. Jessica Subject

    Oh wow, you made me feel sleepy, too. I want to know what happened and if this man can help him. Great hook! 🙂

  3. JadeCrystal

    Excellent job portraying the heavy, sleepy feeling. My eyelids are starting to droop right along with his, lol. The warmth, the fire, the coming tea…what a serene, welcoming atmosphere. I hope that the reverend can help him find the relief he needs. He seems so exhausted.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

