Hump Day Hook


Hey! It’s Hook day again and the best day of the week. 😀 I hope you’re all having a good one. I’m a little late with mine this week thanks to a teething toddler having everyone up last night.

To read other fabulous ‘Hooks’ go to this site and enjoy.

Last week, Stephen was interrupted at Ellis’s grave by a well meaning stranger. He is a tad cross at the interruption.

Now read on…….

Excuse me?’ I snapped, and scowled at the man. I was irritated and annoyed. I didn’t want to share my thoughts or my grief with anyone, least of all this dark clad stranger and my reply was less than friendly.

‘The storm’, he said, indicating with a nod of his head the black clouds now rapidly making their way inland, ‘it’s coming closer and really, you shouldn’t be standing under a tree’.

Just then, and as if to add weight to the man’s words….there was a bright flash followed by a grumbling roll of thunder, and the oak tree creaked and groaned as the wind gathered strength.

‘There you are you see’, he said taking a step towards me, ‘if that doesn’t show you how perilous it is to stand here, I don’t know what will’.

The gloom cast by the storm added a surreal, dreamlike quality to the church yard and the flickers of lightning were becoming more frequent. The church stood out as a hulking dark silhouette, and the last vestiges of light glistened on the leaded panes of the windows.
I turned and looked across to the ruined castle keep and it, too was cast in dark shadows accentuating its melancholy. A solitary gull screamed from the top of the church tower and I turned and spoke to the man;

‘I can’t help but notice’, I said, ‘but your under the tree as well. Are you immune to lightning strikes or just over confident?’

‘Neither’, he said with a smile, ‘but I’m not standing by a grave, oblivious to everything and weeping like an abandoned child. He came closer and read the words engraved on the stone.

‘Was he a good friend?’ he asked.

‘Yes, he was’. I put out my hand to touch the stone. A connection with the precious one buried beneath.
‘We were very close, Ellis and I, we grew up together and….and I……’

‘No need to explain now’, he said while firmly grasping my elbow, ‘you’re upset and, look, the rain is coming on heavier’. He began to steer me in the direction of the church and, compliant as a child I didn’t protest.

20130313-124605.jpg

17 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook

  1. JadeCrystal

    Oooh, mysterious stranger doing mysterious things, and Stephen can’t even protest. It was strange that the man asked if Ellis was a friend and then cut Stephen off before he could explain, as if he didn’t really want to know. Interesting…can’t wait for more next week. 😀 Great hook!

  2. C.R. Moss

    Great imagery. Wondering who the stranger is. Thanks for sharing! 🙂
    C.R.

  3. Gem

    Very visual and compelling scene. I could feel the weight of his grief as well as the rain coming down.

  4. Jessica Subject

    Graveyards always give me an eerie feeling, but in the middle of a storm and with a mysterious stranger makes this hook even more chilling. Curious to read more. 🙂

  5. Kathleen Grieve

    Beautiful descriptions of the wind, tree, storm! Another emotional snippet.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

