Hump Day Hook


It’s Hump Day again! And that can only mean one thing…..lots of brilliant hooks to read HERE by loads of fabulous authors.

Following on from last weeks hook, mine is from one of my WsIP ‘Ellis’ and Stephen is visiting his dead lovers grave where this week he receives a shock.

20130305-204652.jpg It is only when I feel the first drops of rain on my face and hear the wind rustling the leaves and stirring the branches above me that I realise, while I have been standing here lost in my memories….the storm which has been threatening all afternoon has broken. The first distant rumbles of thunder roll in across the sea and the fact that I’m standing under the tallest tree in the church yard doesn’t worry me in the slightest. Perhaps, subconsciously I’m hoping for that fatal stroke to finish me off and put an end, once and for all to the constant guilt and sorrow I’ve lived with these last years.

‘Do you think that’s wise?’

‘What!’

I turn in surprise and there, head cocked quizzically and an expression of concern on his face, is a man. Dressed in black he merges into the shadow cast by the oak which has deepened with the coming storm.

‘I cannot help noticing…you’re standing under a tree and there’s a storm brewing. Its rather reckless you know’.

20130306-105441.jpg

22 thoughts on “Hump Day Hook

  1. Gem Sivad

    Love the imagery of the storm breaking around him while he’s immersed in grief and memories. Very effective hook! I definitely want more.

  2. Elin Gregory

    Oh good. Stephen needs something to snap him out of his grief and a conversation with a mysterious stranger seems just the thing. Can’t wait to read more.

  3. JadeCrystal

    You know, I could be wrong, but isn’t the stranger standing under the tree as well? If so, he really isn’t in the position to chide Stephen for being reckless…unless he is some sort of apparition, in which it doesn’t much matter. LOL, see where my head went? Great hook!

  4. jessielansdel Post author

    Oh my word….your’e right, Jade. Well spotted. I’ll have to sort that one out. God help my beta readers when this is done. Thank you. 😳

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

