NaNo Update


I think I was a teeny weeny bit bonkers when I signed up to do NaNo this year. Having never done it before I didn’t quite know what it was all about really. Oh, I knew I had to try for 50.000 words by the end of the month; but forgot to factor in other things like….looking after my nieces ten month old daughter, one humungous Slobrador and three demanding cats. Now, that’s difficult at the best of times, but trying to bury yourself in 16th century Essex with two lovelorn fellas as well……I’ll leave it to you to imagine how brain-meltingly difficult it really is. 😖

So, at the rate I’m going I’ll probably be finished by Christmas Eve at the earliest. However, I am enjoying the challenge and it is testing my self discipline (which is normally non exist ant) and if I can do this I reckon I can do anything. Kids, dogs and cats permitting 😕

My word count (see word count meter on right) is abysmally low and I really should have done more by now; but I do have the rough outline of the story which I wrote last year so that helps enormously; plusI have my trusty research notes and stacks of books covering everything from Homosexuality in Renaissance England, Tudor servants and 16th century life in general and everything in between. So I’m well set up there then.

Now I must away to my freezing cold garret and hope I don’t fall face down onto the key board from utter exhaustion.

Watch this space.

20121102-211153.jpg

7 thoughts on “NaNo Update

  1. Elin Gregory

    One thousand, six hundred and thirty four words a day gets the job done if you’ve set your heart on a ‘winner’ badge. But 500 words a day gets you a novella length story. Is all good 🙂

  2. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you honey. That’s the way to look at it I guess. I should get more done this weekend as I’ll be at home…..alone. 😃 Good luck with your OLS edits. ((Hugs))

  3. roughseasinthemed

    I did it a few years ago. I didn’t start totally from cold, like you, I did have the idea and some previous early chapters drafted so that really helped and meant I could take the odd day off.

    If you are going for the 50,000 it’s really (especially the first time) about actually churning out the volume. I think there is loads of advice on the site about that. Once you can do that, then you can start thinking about approaching it all from a much more qualitative angle. I never did though, I was quite happy to hit the words and get it submitted. It’s really, as you say, about the discipline. I wouldn’t do it again, but I would think more seriously about a more structured approach to a novel, start it earlier, and then use NaNo as an incentive to maybe finish or perhaps do a middle chunk.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

