Romance and Hollywood.


20120830-180620.jpg Ah, romance. What defines romance? Well, as an extremely romantic and idealistic teenager romance, for me, meant Cathy and Heathcliffe roaming the moors looking wind blown and terribly intense and declaring that they would love each other unto death and beyond. And I wept buckets when Heathcliffe stormed into the bedroom to see the dying Cathy and then carried her, all draped in a floaty diaphanous nighty, to the window so she could gaze her last on their old stomping ground, the beautiful Hollywood Moors. 😏

Or maybe even the beautiful Garbo as Camille calling “Armand! Armand!” as she lay on her death bed looking absolutely perfect through a dreamy gauze.

Ah yes, it should be perfect, this thing called Romance. Noble looking men and the ladies, even on their death bed and presumably riddled with TB, always looked impeccably made up and coiffured. And God forbid that their should be blood or any other bodily emission. Oh no! Except of course a tiny splotch on a lace hanky as the heroine smiled bravely and the hero held her hand and frowned with concern as she nobly accepted her fate.

20120831-105859.jpg Now of course, I prefer my romance with a little more subtlety. The Hollywood romances of the 1930s/40s were about as subtle as a run away lorry and were written and directed to be ‘Three Hanky Jobs’ if not a whole box of Kleenex.

I know some people would not regard that wonderful film, ‘The Remains of The Day’ as classic Romance; oh, but I think it is. It’s subtle and so poignant and heartbreaking.
The love which the house keeper Miss Kenton has for the manservant Mr Stevens (beautifully portrayed by Emma Thompson and Anthony Hopkins) is apparently not returned by him. We witness the poor woman’s utter despair as she tries to get the buttoned up Stevens to admit what he feels for her, if anything.
But alas, Mr Stevens is dedicated to his job and remains aloof and Miss Kenton marries another man. Years later, they reunite and Mr Stevens apparently realises what he has lost. It is sad and poignant beyond belief in my opinion; and the quiet despair of Miss Kenton must, at some time or another been felt by most of us and we can relate to her. Much more realistic in my opinion than those old Hollywood tear jerkers however great they were to watch and sob at after Sunday lunch. Consequently, I really think that this realism adds to the romance, because we understand how she feels.

So there it is. My idea of romance. Subtle, poignant and with a touch of gritty realism which we can relate to. But,I still love to indulge in the old B&W Hollywood tear jerkers; although these days, the tears I shed as a soppily romantic teen are much more likely to be replaced by sneers and cynicism.

20120831-120015.jpg

I do hope you enjoy the blog hop. To visit other blogs taking part, see Here.

20120831-121004.jpg

16 thoughts on “Romance and Hollywood.

  1. roughseasinthemed

    Enjoyable read. I’ve not see the film, but I did read the book recently and thought it was very good. Such a sense of missed opportunity and lack of fulfilment.

  2. Elin Gregory

    Oh now, see, I can’t cope with those. I quite liked Queen Christina because of the slashiness – he honestly thought he was going to be sharing a room with a strapping young lad – but most of these others left me cold or annoyed me. I guess I’m just not very romantic.

    Very nice post though.

  3. jessielansdel Post author

    Oh I’m not now believe me. 🙂 cynicism is my middle name these days.
    Thanks for the comments people. First proper post since April. :O

  4. Trix

    I think that’s why I prefer m/m in the first place–fewer cliches than het romance.

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  5. jessielansdel Post author

    @Trix. Me too. I find het romance boringly predictable and cliche ridden. Thanks for visiting. 😊

    @Celeste. You’ll be pleasantly surprised I promise you. Thanks for visiting. 😊

  6. JanD

    I haven’t seen ‘The Remains of The Day’ but I’ve seen ‘The Heiress’. Love that movie.
    bituin76 AT hotmaild DOT com

  7. Shadow

    Thanks for the awesome hop and giveaways! This is so much fun! Thank you! My favorite thing about romance is the romance. lol I love the characters, the plots, the HEA’s, the love. I love it all!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. Crystal Craig

    I agree with you there. The realism of a romance makes it more defined and you can relate to it even more with that element. I would cry my eyes out if I were to read or watch a movie of that nature, haha. I tend to hate crying over movies though. 🙂

    Thank you for sharing that!

    craigcrystal(at)ymail(dot)com

  9. myristica19

    Absolutely adore romances that make me cry. It means the story got to me. The ho-hum romances don’t do anything for me (or if the actors in movie romances fail to have a chemistry spark. I just can’t ‘feel’ it then. No matter what the scene or how well it’s written. Must have the chemistry for it to pierce my heart.) When a writer makes me ‘feel’ the love, then they’ve hooked me. ;D
    Thanks for this!
    Hugs,
    Myristica
    myristica19(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. Michelle Bledsoe

    I haven’t seen the movie. I like all types of romances.Tear jerkers,adventures, paranormals,fluff. You name it I will read it. I prefer to read my romances instead of watching them..

    koonie2888 at yahoo dot com

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

