My First Published Piece.


I started this week on a real high note. I actually met a deadline (with a day to spare) for my Xmas piece to be used in the Speak it’s Name Advent Calendar. I cannot tell you how good it made me feel and how cock-a-hoop I’ve been all week. 🙂
Granted, it’s not a book I’m having published but it’s a small step in the right direction and it’s been a real confidence booster after an absence from writing for a month or two.
My piece for the calendar is a very short story with a slight twist and a slight supernatural/ish slant. I hope anyone who reads it will enjoy it as much as I loved writing it.
My next project is attempting a short story for an anthology which is published each year as a tie in for the annual LGBT writers/readers meeting. The working title is ‘Lashings of Sauce’ so it should be good. I’ve already started on my rough draft and there should be sauce a plenty in it. 🙂

But it has to be said, writing short stories is not the easiest thing to do. You have to convey to your readers as much information as possible with fewer words than in a novel. Pages and pages of descriptions and dialogue are a no no, so it’s a case, as one writer put it of ‘get in, tell the story and get out again’. The short story is to the novel what a snap shot is to a movie. So it is a skilled process and a challenge for the amateur writer like myself.

So back to the drawing board and my own challenge and fingers crossed one which I can meet head on and with as much creative skill as I have enthusiasm, which I have in bucket loads.

speakitsname.com/

20111211-082030.jpg

One thought on “My First Published Piece.

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

