A Tribute to Oscar.


20120530-191302.jpg My Beautiful Boy, Oscar.

As some of you already know, my much loved cat Oscar died of Renal Failure last Friday in the early hours of the morning. I had to take him to the vet’s surgery at 11:30 on Thursday night as he had deteriorated so rapidly and, looking back now with a clearer mind, I think he was dying then.

I chose to give him a chance however slight, on an IV drip to rehydrate him because I couldn’t make that awful and final decision and have him put to sleep. But alas, Oscar’s time had come and I believe he cannot have lasted much longer after I’d left him at the surgery. Apparently, they hang on to life in response to our presence and by leaving him, I made it easier for him to go.

So I have not been able to write anything except bits and pieces and replies to friends posts; but today I feel a great deal better thanks to all the messages and emails I’ve had from friends, and the Pet Grief Support Forum which helps all those grieving for a lost pet. And a wonderful job they do as well.

So, I am now working on a story which will be a little tribute to my Oscar Boy. I did the same for my friends cat Dave when he died and consequently Josh the vet and his partner Simon were born. That story can be read Here and Oscar’s story will feature Josh and Simon.

So watch out for that one. I promise it won’t be morbid or a “Three Hankie Job” just a celebration of cats really and Josh and Simon’s love of animals as well as each other.

20120530-193747.jpg Sod off and let me sleeeeeeep

16 thoughts on “A Tribute to Oscar.

  1. onlyfragments

    Ooh, what a beautiful cat. I’m so sorry for your loss. I think writing a tribute story is a beautiful way to honor his life and all he meant to you.

  2. Navy Wife Chronicles

    I’m sorry to read about your poor kitty. What a beautiful cat. We had to put our dog down a few years ago and that was the hardest thing to do in my life. I look forward to reading your tribute to him.

  3. jessielansdel Post author

    Thank you Navy Wife. It is very hard to lose our pets but other people’s kindness and understanding helps a great deal. Thank you for following my blog.

  4. bubblegumandpink

    Sorry to hear about this Jessie, very beautiful cat, I look forward to reading the story about him :) I am glad you’re feeling better too :) x

  5. roughseasinthemed

    Letting one of our animals go is one of the saddest experiences in life. Oscar looks so beautiful. Understand your grief and your lovely boy went when it was time – you’re right, they do that.

  6. blogerforlife

    Thank you hun and your not alone don’t even think that you are. The graving part is always the hard part but ones it’s don’t you’ll feel so much better. It’s good you mad a tribute and his memory will live on in your times you spent with him.

  7. konica

    hi there!!! how are u??? its been so long my friend since i heard from u.. anyways…
    i’ve 2 great news!!!

    First,ive created a link, ASK KONICA… where you can ask all your questions regarding any issue and i’ll be happy to share some advice.You’ll find the “ask konica” category in the sidebar below “meet konica”. so feel free to visit the link.

    And second, ive also created another blog, http://www.scrapsmania.wordpress.com for all my blog friends who loves crafts and scrapbooking. so do visit the blog and share me your thoughts!

    happy blogging!!

I welcome all comments. Thank you for visiting.

